MLREMS – February 18, 2008 Meeting Minutes

Present Sheri Adam Paul Bishop Mark Connolly Bob Faugh Erik Rueckmann Boris Shmigel	Darrin Batty Randy Campbell Tom Coyle Julie Jordan Manish Shah Mark Tornstrom	Jason Bortle Sue Chalupa-Breese Steve Erb Dave Leven Bill Sheahan Gwen Williams
Absent Tim Czapranski Jan Lloyd Dick Tripp	Tim Frost Joe Meath	John Halldow Deb Stamps
Guests Jeremy Cushman Larry Onderdonk	Terry Fairbanks	Mike Kuder
 Call to order Approval of minutes – Motion to approve – Leven, Second Shah, motion passed Correspondence –none Reports of Officers & Staff Chair and Executive Committee – Paul Bishop Request for STEP conference – motion to donate \$2K in check form to be applied to the cost of brining in Steve Berry. In addition we will continue the \$2K in kind donation for tracking the CMEs – Faugh, Second Shah, motion passed. Pleas send check prior to STEP this year Request for support for Strong Trauma Conference – Motion to donate \$300 with the caveat that we receive recognition Sheahan, Second Shmigel, motion passed Lobby for increased funding – looking for people with connections to the legislators in order to help push through additional Program Agency funding. Asking for volunteers to help with this. 		

- b. Vice-Chair Mark Tornstrom no report
- c. Secretary Tim Frost report by Paul Bishop
 - i. Attendance letters going out this week
- d. Treasurer Marc Connolly
 - i. Financial Statements balance sheet and P&L statement
 - ii. Financial Procedures Committee (Adam, Connolly, Faugh, & Meath) will have a meeting to finalize the procedures re disbursement policies and procedures for check requests.
 - iii. RFP for Bookkeeping and Auditors auditor increasing fee from \$3600 to \$5500-\$6000.
 - iv. Budget Report nothing major changing for the next contract period will vote on the budget at the April meeting, Paul to send in the Council contract before 3-30-08.
- e. Medical director report Manish Shah
 - i. Dr Ling's project for STEMI's will be working on it as a pilot with a couple agencies going to URMC to start
 - ii. Livingston County dialysis center opening will be doing some CME's regarding dialysis in the near future
- f. Office Manager Sheri Adam
 - i. Website will be working with an RIT Co-op student to upgrade the website

5. Committee Reports

- a. Training committee Dave Leven no report
- b. Best Practices Randy Campbell
 - i. Established regular meeting 1st Weds every month at PSTF
 - ii. Created a list of items to work on, some that need to be worked on by other committees
- c. Next Generation PCR Manish Shah
 - i. 4 work groups formed to help create uniformity for those using emsCharts
 - ii. Gotomeeting looking at using product to allow virtual meetings to
 - occur. Will be starting with 30 day trial membership
- d. NEG Bill Sheahan
 - i. Established who's on committee
 - ii. Working on completing tasks from last year
 - iii. Open council seats
- e. REMAC Terry Fairbanks
 - i. Voting on new SOPs today
- f. System operations Tom Coyle
 - i. Scottsville transfer CON being worked on
 - ii. CON Policy revisions committee will be updating fee structure
- 6. County and Representation Reports
 - a. Livingston County Bill Sheahan no report
 - b. Monroe County Tim Czapranski report by Paul Bishop
 - i. Alternative Destination 15 requests, 9 transports, Monroe Ambulance interested in participating
 - c. Monroe County EMS Advisory Board Boris Shmigel no report
 - d. Monroe County LEPC Tom Coyle meeting cancelled
 - e. State EMS Council Terry Fairbanks
 - i. Protocols up for review in March 2008
- PIER Committee Awards
 - a. Discussion regarding eligibility of non-residents. Committee agreed to look at this for next year's awards.
 - b. Award Winners
 - i. BLS Provider of the Year Betsy Ott
 - ii. EMS Educator of Excellence Beth Ann McNeil
 - iii. Registered Professional Nurse of Excellence Christian Reneger
 - iv. EMS Agency will be announced at the STEP Conference Banquet
 - v. Lloyd Levy Award Dick Tripp
 - vi. ALS Provider of the Year Mike Kuder
 - vii. EMS Leadership Aware James Cassin
 - viii. EMS Communication Specialist Tawana Rice
 - ix. Physician of Excellence Erik Rueckmann

Motion to adjourn – Adam, Second Shah, motion passed